Michi-style Deep Dish Pizza

I was affectionately thinking of my old roommate from my first year in Spain several weeks ago. Mostly because I miss her like crazy, but also because she recently married her Spanish sweetheart in Chicago.

Jen and I shared priceless memories during our first year of Spanish life. Painting the town red, trying new foods that still looked like the actual animal/s we were eating (i.e. snails, shark, jumbo unpeeled prawns with antennae still attached), couchsurfing in Madrid, learning our worth in camels in Morocco, somehow ending up in Bulgaria for a week, then impulsively hopping on a bus to Greece, laughing hysterically til the wee hours of morning, meeting our future Spanish husbands, and so much more.

When my teaching contract in Spain expired after two years and I returned home, leaving D-Man behind, I made a tearful stop in Chicago where Jen, who was in a similar heartbreaking situation, was waiting for me with wide open arms.

Okay, so maybe it wasn’t that tearful.

While in Chicago, we did as the Chicagoans do and I had my first Chicago-style deep dish pizza at one of Jen’s favorite restaurants in the city. Years later I’m inspired to bake one of my own deep dish pizzas.

The following (45-minute, easy-peasy) recipe is dedicated to one of the most noble, sincere, and warmhearted people I’ve ever had the pleasure of knowing…here’s to you, Jen.

For this recipe, you will need:

Dough
3 cups of flour
3 tablespoons of honey
2 tablespoons of olive oil
A pinch of salt
1 1/4 cups of warm water or milk
A deep dish pizza pan (mine is about 12-inches wide and 2.5-inches deep)

Filling
1 cup of tomato paste (or 2 cups of tomato sauce)
All the veggies, meat, spices, and cheeses you feel like!
(On this particular day I used a few cloves of garlic, 1 onion, 2 green bell peppers, 2 red bell peppers, oregano, salt, paprika, 3 tablespoons of BBQ sauce, and cured goat cheese).

 

Pour the flour into a big bowl.

 

Drizzle a generous amount of honey on top. Mix in the rest of the ‘dough’ ingredients and blend well.

 

Lightly flour the pizza pan.

 

Pour the fresh dough into the pan.

 

Chop up your desired veggies and meat, and fry lightly with a bit of olive oil. Add spices (I used a dash of salt, oregano, and paprika).

 

Once the veggies are softened, pour in the tomato sauce, or paste (BBQ sauce optional), and simmer on medium heat.

 

In the meantime, lightly press the cheese into the pizza dough, making sure the dough evenly reaches out onto the sides of the pan.

 

Pour in the delicious filling.

 

Bake at 450ºF  (230ºC) degrees for 25 – 30 minutes, and serve!

 

Any delicious pizza recipes up your sleeve? What’s your favorite kind of pizza?

22 thoughts on “Michi-style Deep Dish Pizza

    • Not spicy at all!! Even when I add a pinch of paprika, it’s not spicy. :) Spaniards really can’t handle spicy foods since Spanish dishes are not known for being spicy (and I myself can’t really handle spicy dishes), so I’m careful about the paprika when I cook! :)

    • I prefer thinner pizzas too, though this is a great recipe when you’re in the mood for a heftier pizza. The best part is making the filling – you can be as creative as you like! :)

    • Yes! Let me know how you’re delicious pizza turns out! You’re always wonderfully creative with your foods, I can’t wait to see the personal touches you will give this recipe. :)

  1. LOVE the story of you and Jen :) So heartwarming particularly because I’ve shared similar bonds with a few housemates in London. It’s these connections we have in life that speak to my soul ;)

    • I think that when traveling or living abroad, our time is often limited, so we find ourselves accomplishing things in a lot less time than we often would, especially when it comes to building relationships. I never in a million years imagined I’d live the life I am living now, and feel infinitely blessed to have met such wonderful people with whom to share some of my greatest life experiences. Azra, I’d love to read more about your housemates and experiences from London! :)

      • Yes! You remind me of Rachel Ray too! lol, It took this long to figure it out!
        Love Rachel btw.
        I also love cajun chicken pizza with bell peppers like in one of my previous posts….now I’m hungry *sigh*
        I’ve blogged about my friends before… will dig around for some links and send em your way ;)

        • Mmmmmm, that pizza recipe was delicious!! I have yet to try it, but it keeps popping up in my head every so often. The next time I make pizza, without a doubt that will be the recipe I decide on!
          Yes, please send those links over! This is why I loved the 7 Links Project, because I was able to read a handful of the posts you wrote before my blogging days existed. :)

    • Funny you should say that, because several people have told me I remind them of Rachael Ray. (Though I can’t really decide whether it’s a good or bad thing – but heck, if it means I can make a great living by being chatty while whipping up wonders in the kitchen, I’m all for it!!) :)

  2. LOVE LOVE this pizza recipe! Honey on the dough? Goat cheese? Woman, I love you. Its almost 1am in Thailand and I am lucky I have no oven cause if not I’d be making this. And I’m on a diet. This looks amazing. I am sharing. And the story was very sweet too.

    • The honey makes the dough that much better!! I thought it was a creative ingredient. :)
      How can you be on a diet right now?? Doesn’t Thailand have AMAZING FOOD?! Mmmmmm. I could eat my way around the world, really.

Leave a Reply

