I’m back!

Being able to spend the Thanksgiving holidays with my family and close friends after being away for more than a year, turned out to be exactly the kind of breather I needed.

In the month that I was gone, I savored all of the little things that make a homecoming so wonderful.

 

Like finding this wedding picture of D-Man and me in my little brother’s wallet.

 

Family…

 

…and our annual Thanksgiving gathering.

 

A memorable trip to San Francisco.

 

Laughing the hardest I’ve laughed in a long time.

 

Getting spoiled by my parents.

 

A trip down memory lane…

 

And finally, being able to finish my dissertation, come back to Spain, and gloriously defend it.

Michi, Máster of ze universe.

21 thoughts on “I’m back!

    • Thank you! I missed yours too, so I did some catching up earlier. The aromatherapy course you recently went to in London sounds fantastic. I’m looking forward to borrowing more of your homemade product recipes!

  1. So glad to have you back! And I’m really glad you had a great time with your family. Sometimes, we NEED rather than want that familial connection. Hope the visit has left you refreshed and not more homesick… now wouldn’t it be great if you had a few surprise visitors from back home for Christmas :)

    • Azra, it was needed more than I could have ever imagined. I literally felt myself healing when I was home. And time flew by much too quickly. Having my loved ones out here for Christmas would be fantastic, *ah* I would love a nice surprise like that. :)

  2. Yay! I made one of your posts!!!!!!!

    :( I miss you already. Next post I’ll make an appearance in? Hopefully the one where you’re writing about a visit! :-D

    • Well, you were a huge part of why my time back home was so terrific!! I was glad to be able to talk and be our ridiculous selves like old times. :)

      I miss you already, too. Let’s hope you make an appearance soon, eh?!?! Having you and Misha here would be so incredibly fantastic!!

    • Thank you!! I really did need it, more than I ever thought! I’m settling back in quite nicely now, just in time for the holidays – which means a cornucopia of delicious Spanish food!! Mmmmmmm. :)

      Happy Holidays to you and Big Man!! I can’t wait to read more about your delicious recipes and how the house-building goes!

    • Thank you, Monique. It was a huge relief (both going home and finishing my dissertation). I’ve been able to return and feel very refreshed; and there is definitely a big appreciation for my life abroad here. I couldn’t help but reflect on the top ten list on the last guest post a few times. ;)

    • Great, and I’m glad I found yours! I related to a few of your Spanish Adventure posts – I’m glad I’m not alone in my ever-alternating love/hate relationship with living abroad!

      As for the dog, that’s my U.S. family’s pup. D-Man and I have a cute Boxer pup here in Spain. She’s very active, so living near the mountains and rivers here in Granada is fantastic! :)

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Yay! You’re back! I also missed your posts. You’re a total badass in my book, although I think I’ve already mentioned that!

    Looking forward to your drool-worthy recipes. Happy New Year mija :-)
    I like the little changes you made to the site…the fonts…did you change the photo as well? I like the snow falling off the picture! How did you do that?

    • You’re a huge badass in my book, too. I love reading about your adventures. Especially the one where you crossed the border into Bolivia – Holy Man. And I’m sooo jealous of you and Mike traveling through SE Asia right now!! :)

      Thanks, I was looking forward to making some changes, I felt like I needed a new look over here. The falling snow is automatic, I think. I’m still hosted by WordPress, so it’ll stay on until the New Year. Happy holidays and a Feliz Año Nuevo to you, love! :)

Leave a Reply

