Solomillo al Pedro Ximénez (a sweet meat lover’s recipe)

D-Man and I missed out on the Christmas festivities this year because he had to work the holidays, so we chose a day to stay in, use all of the extra port wine we had left over, and make one of our favorite special-occasion meat dishes:

Solomillo al Pedro Ximénez

 

This recipe serves about 4 people, and takes an hour to make. You’ll need:

2 pork loins (if you’re not a big fan of pork, you can try another kind of sirloin)
3 cups of Pedro Jiménez wine (or port!)
3 TBSP of brown sugar (optional)
1 large onion, sliced
1 handful of hazelnuts & walnuts, chopped
1 handful of dried raisins & apricots
Salt & pepper
Olive oil

It’s recommended that you soak the dried apricots & raisins in the port wine for at least a couple of hours before starting this recipe.

Step 1. You can choose whether to cut the sirloin into slices, or leave it whole. I personally prefer it sliced as it’s easier to cook and absorbs the sauce better, but we cooked it whole this time (just as delicious!).

Drizzle a bit of olive oil into a large pan, and place on medium heat. Once the oil is ready, place the sliced or whole sirloin into the pan, and sprinkle salt and pepper for flavor.

 

Step 2. Wait until the sirloin has obtained a nice golden color before removing from the pan and setting aside on a plate. It’s perfectly fine if the inside is still pink, because you will later heat and thoroughly cook the sirloin in the wine sauce.

 

Step 3. Slice the onion, and lightly fry on medium heat until transparent.

 

Step 4. In the meantime chop up the walnuts and hazelnuts before adding them into the pan, along with the sliced apricots and raisins.

 

*Note: We didn’t soak the apricots as recommended, but instead lightly fried them along with the nuts and onion. (We also didn’t use raisins this time).

Step 5. Next, pour the Pedro Ximénez wine, or port wine, into the pan and let the onions, dried fruit, and nuts soak it all in for about 5-10 minutes on low to medium heat (slow-cooking is good).

 

Step 6. Place the sirloin in the sauce and allow it to slowly and thoroughly finish cooking, absorbing the wine and flavor. When the pink from the meat is gone, serve, taste, and enjoy!

 

What are your favorite holiday recipes?

16 thoughts on “Solomillo al Pedro Ximénez (a sweet meat lover’s recipe)

  1. well now I know what I’m going to do with the elk sirloin I took out to thaw this morning (bonus, I have pretty much everything else on hand! love when that happens!) That looks luscious…thanks for sharing!

    • Hi, Monique! Thanks! :) I’m not sure if you can find Pedro Ximenez wine in the States, but I have a feeling that you really might be able to! (It seems like something that would be exported, but I suppose you never know.)

      If you can’t find it, use a port wine, but make sure to add the brown sugar to thicken it up, especially if the port wine you select is more on the watery side. If it’s a thick port wine, then brown sugar is optional. :)

    • Thank you, I love taking food photos. Yes, it’s definitely a great holiday recipe, mmmmm, I’d love to taste how it turns out! You’re an amazing cook, so I’ll bet you’ll have family drooling no matter what you make!

  2. Beautiful, I love your recipes, thay are always so unusual !!! :D I can nearly taste it :D It’s a shame you had to work, but that’s life :D I am sure you enjoyed you night in with D-Man :D As long as you have someone dear next to you, that’s all that matters :D I love port and somehow, I am not sure how, I din’t have even a drop of it during this festive season… I might make my way to the shop today, there is still some time for this lovely drink :D

    • Thank you, Kristina, and I love your homemade products’ recipes!! The night in was great, just what we needed. As for the port, you can try soaking some fruit in it, too – the fruit mixed in with the sweet wine makes for a yummy and warming dessert (I got it from Chica Andaluza, it’s soo delicious!)

      Happy New Year to you and Charlie!! :)

  3. Sooooomeone changed their blog around! It’s very… contemporary? I don’t know if that’s the right word for it. :) It’s awesome though. Loves it.

    …because of you I’m buying a new camera. Then again… I have a really great camera at home, I just don’t know how to use it.

    …in that case… maybe I should just learn how to use the camera I have? But it’s so big, I can’t fit it in my purse.

    That’s it. Buying the new camera. Look what you did, you instigator!

    • Haha, I’m glad you noticed, and that you like it!! :)

      You’re getting the new camera, then? :) Definitely take it to Finland when you go!! I would recommend a Canon, I prefer it over a Nikon (but that’s just my personal preference, I’m not a big shot photographer or anything). David and I have one big camera that we take turns using, and my old little digital one, which is lower quality, but works for nights out since it fits in my purse! ;)

  4. Best recipe ever! The only thing I added to the sauce was two tablespoons of flour instead of the brown sugar. Thank you for the recipe.

    • Oh, that sounds like an idea! I’m glad you tried out the recipe!! The sugar is mostly to caramelize the sauce, but the flour would definitely thicken it. I’ll try it next time if I’m lacking Pedro Ximenez wine.

Leave a Reply

