Root Root Riot!

One of our favorite puréed Winter soups is made up of seasonal ingredients easily found at our local fruit shop, just down the hill from where D-Man and I live. There’s a lot of peeling and chopping involved, but if you can get past the initial 15 minutes of veggie work, it’s easy sailing from there on out! ;)

 

To make 4 – 6 generous servings of Root Root Riot Soup, you’ll need:

1/4 cup of olive oil
1 onion, peeled and chopped
1 crisp apple, peeled and chopped
2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped
3-4 large carrots, peeled and chopped
1 teaspoon of minced ginger root (if you’re a ginger lover like me, I recommend a large tablespoon of ginger instead! It makes for a very fragrant soup).
1/2 cup lentils (soaked and rinsed)
4-5 cups of water (depending on how thick you’d like the soup)
Salt to taste
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon curry
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper (or paprika)
Parsley (used as garnish, optional)

 

STEP 1. The tough part: Peel and chop all of your veggies, and the apple. Peel and mince the desired amount of ginger root.

 

STEP 2. Heat the olive oil in a big pot. Pour the chopped veggies, apple, and ginger in. Stir and cook for about 10 minutes, or until the onions are translucent.

 

STEP 3. Stir the lentils, spices, and water into the pot.

 

STEP 4. Bring the soup to a boil over medium to high heat, cover the pot, and simmer for 30 minutes, or until the veggies and lentils are soft.

 

STEP 5. At this point, you can either choose to serve the soup as is (after giving it a few good stirs), or you can purée it!

Personally, I love the puréed version. ;)

 

STEP 6. Serve with parsley garnish, and enjoy!

What are some of your favorite seasonal dishes?

For a tasty puréed Ginger Spiced Carrot and Split Pea Soup, check out Chica Andaluza’s site. Her Spanish recipes are amazing!

21 thoughts on “Root Root Riot!

    • Thank you! I went back and linked to your Ginger Spiced Carrot and Split Pea Soup recipe, too – they’re Winter soup sister recipes. ;)
      Ah, I can’t believe the Winter season is almost over! I realized it last week when I noticed that the sweet potatoes had gotten very small (the size of small apples), and this week we’ve had lovely warm weather! The seasons just fly on by.

  1. I had a carrot and ginger soup the other day that tasted REALLY good. That sort of reminds me of this recipe. I’m DEFINITELY going to try making it at some point. Then again, I also have a long list of other things I’d like to make. Damn.

    • Gracias, Azra, I’m glad to know I’d have you as a viewer!! I’m hoping the producers of such a show would equip me with a proper oven. ;) Spices are much cheaper in Spain than in the States – these past few years I’ve loved experimenting and learning to bring out flavors in my dishes with combinations of paprika, curry, cumin, chili, nutmeg, etc. Ah, the wonderful world of spices. :)

  2. you may not be a baker, but you sure do cook! love the spices pic. We do a lentil soup in winter, but I’m spoiled by my mom who makes soups and brings to me frozen to heat up and enjoy when we want – like kale, and a German saurkraut one.

    • Mmmm, your mom’s soups sound delicious! D-Man’s mom makes a garbanzo-rice soup with meat that I absolutely love, and she’ll it for us to take home and freeze. Then she’ll make croquettes (my favorite) with some of the soup’s meat. My mouth’s watering just thinking about it!

  3. This sounds like a perfect soup for winter and I love lentils especially in a soup :) I was boiling lots of different soups all winter to keep us warm :) But now, that spring is here, I am moving on to salads :D And that spice picture is so pretty :D

    • I’m so sad to have to say goodbye to soups for now, but am glad for the warmer weather. You’re right: goodbye soups, hello refreshing salads!! You make delicious ones, I have some of your homemade salads bookmarked from last year. :)

  4. Hmmm…the inclusion of the apple in there is making me extremely curious so I’ll definitely try your recipe one of these days, Michi. Ginger is lovely in soup too with its refreshing taste. ;-)

    • Sometimes I add two apples! I love how crisp and crunchy the red ones are here.

      Ginger makes for a nice flavor. My mom taught me to make ginger tea the last time I was home, and I’ll admit it’s become ones of my favorites. It’s very refreshing. :)

  5. Mmm, this looks really yummy. And not too difficult–I am always put off by soup recipes that have to be pureed because I only have a feeble hand mixer. But, when I saw that you and I have identical food processors, I decided that I’ll have to give this one a go!

    • I also used to be turned off by my feeble hand mixer – I had never used one before, and would usually spray whatever I was trying to puree all over the kitchen, and mainly on myself. I eventually got used to it, and now prefer it over a blender any day! (there’s less to clean and you can manually control the texture of your foods). Welcome, and thanks for stopping by! :)

Leave a Reply

