Salamanca

The month of July found me in the middle of nowhere. I was living and working at a cortijo, a country estate, deep in the outskirts of Granada and 40 minutes away from the nearest village. I’d never seen fields of sunflowers stretch so far out, or millions of stars so close to the earth…

 

Work continued on into August, and I went to teach Business English in Salamanca. I’d always wanted to see more of Spain, so I also made my way through León, Asturias, Santander, and Burgos as well. But let’s start with Salamanca!

IMG_0439

 

The Old Cathedral – completed in the 14th century, and built in the Romanesque and Gothic styles.

 

The New Cathedral – completed in the 18th century, and built in the Gothic and Baroque styles.

 

Casa de las Conchas. A historical building built in the 16th century and decorated with over 300 shells (symbol of the order of Santiago, as well as of the pilgrims who walk the Camino de Santiago).


 

Two ice creams and a sunset in Plaza Mayor.

Happy Monday everyone!

24 thoughts on “Salamanca

  1. WOW, that sea of sunflowers is almost hypnotic! Fab photos as always. Glad you’re having awesome experiences along the way. Yes, it’s time to catch-up! ;D

  2. aaah Salamanca. Always beautiful! Been there twice myself. I went the second time with my parents during Semana Santa and we got to see a procession with a throne. They were so awed by the experience!

    • Semana Santa is pretty impressive! I don’t think anyone is ever really prepared for it the first time around… it’s one of those traditions that makes you feel as if the world has frozen in time. It must have been beautiful to watch in Salamanca!

  3. Salamanca, favorite city in Spain, probably. Met my husband there, it’s gorgeous, it’s full of life, it’s in Castilla y Leon, I could go on and on.

    • You know, sunflowers are kind of creepy. They look as if they’re about to yank their legs (roots) out of the earth and start marching like an army, and the way they follow the sun with their heads is a bit unsettling – especially at dusk. But during the daytime, I find them to be beautiful and not as creepy…

  4. Hip hip hurray! A post from one of my favorites : ) Love your posts as always and look forward to all your catch up. Would love to see a sea of sunflowers.

      • Ah ha. I guess I haven’t spent time in Andalucia in July and August! True about the pipas- they have to come from somewhere but you just never know these days where our food comes from. Thankfully Spain is a lot better about it than the USA.

  5. I love that you spent time there – !! Asturias, other than being a bit wet and cold the summer we were there, was so wonderful. Did you visit Comillas or Cobreces? We stayed in Cobreces when we were there.

    • No, I didn’t! But I absolutely loved Asturias and wish I could have spent more time there. I spent a few days with D-Man’s extended family, and went to Oviedo, Gijón, and Covadonga (“Los Picos de Europa”). I want to live in Asturias now! If I ever do, I’ll keep Comillas and Cobreces in mind. ;)

    • It’s pretty, and small. I loved it because it’s one of those charming cities where you can wander from one point to the other in no time at all… it reminded me of Granada. :)

    • Thank you! Expat life definitely has its ups and downs, yet I would definitely say that it balances out with many more positives. ;) Spain constantly has me falling in love with it time and again. I’ve been here 5 years and I’m still finding things to love about it!

Leave a Reply

