The Beauty of The Camino (a photo essay)

It’s been a month since I returned from the Camino. My feet and ankles weren’t in the prettiest of conditions when I finished walking, and I think I’ll have awkward tan lines forever, but it’s the kind of thing I’d do again in a heartbeat.

I don’t think I had any giant life revelations along the way, but it was liberating getting back to the basics. My day to day concerns consisted of walking, eating, showering, and getting enough sleep. All while meeting the most wonderful and lively individuals along the way.

I also relished the hours I walked alone. I needed time to myself to think, or to not think at all, and just re-energize after a difficult year. A draining year that has led D-Man and I to make the decision to move from Spain to the UK, in the hopes that job prospects will be better for him there.

But that’s something I might write more about later. I have tons of catching up to do and plenty more to share. For now, here are just a few of my favorite moments from El Camino de Santiago. I hope you’ll enjoy.

 

Pilgrim on The Way.

 

Manjarín.

 

El Acebo.

 

Rainy Day.

 

Molinaseca.

 

Las Médulas.

 

Yellow Tunnels.

 

O’Cebreiro!

 

Portomarín.

 

Arrival.

 

Catedral Santiago de Compostela.

31 thoughts on “The Beauty of The Camino (a photo essay)

  1. We just had family friends who finished the Camino last week (they left from Pamplona). We got regular email updates from them. This is definitely something I want to do someday! I’m glad you had a great experience, your pictures look amazing! Also good luck moving to the UK! It’s true the economic situation in Spain is rather dismal… one of the reasons why I left too!

  2. AHHHH I can’t wait to get on the road! I’ve been dreaming of doing the Camino since 2005, when I studied abroad, and I get teased working in Galicia each summer. Looks like this coming summer will be the time, and your pictures are making me rethink the Camino del Norte.

    AND THE UK, Dios! Lookking forward to having you back, M!

  3. I’ve so missed you Michi! What an amazing experience and thank you for sharing the photos so we get a taste of it. Gorgeous images. And wow – the UK! I have two very good friends living in and near London (one american, one english), pls let me know if you’d like a hook up at any point. I, too, hear about the high unemployment in spain. so sad for those who want to be there and can’t find a way. Great to have you back :)!

    • I’ve missed you too, it’s great to be back. :)

      I’d love to have connections! I think that D-Man has been assigned to work in Northern Ireland though… which is a lot further than I thought we’d be moving. Eeek…

  4. Welcome back :) judging by the pictures, your trip looks amazing! I’d love to do something like this :) I especially love the Portomarín picture :)

    Where about in the Uk? ;) It won’t be the same, even though it’s a very pretty country, the weather here is nothing like in Spain :) I remember my Spanish friend being depressed for about 2 weeks every time he got back to London from Valencia :)

    • Northern Ireland! I think about an hour away from Belfast… The weather is something we’re not looking forward to, but I suppose it’ll be an experience! My pictures will just be gray and foggy. :)

  5. Ah, I actually got goosebumps all over by reading this post/seeing these photos. The Camino seems like such a wonderful thing to do, everyone I know who have done it talk so highly of it. Your photos are absolutely beautiful!

  6. i just wondered how were you. glad to see you back :)
    i moved to berlin last week. if you ever drop by here, let me know sis :)

  7. wow Michelle, the photos are all sorts of amazing, and you look absolutely radiant :) I always associate the Camino with Paulo Coelho, maybe its because he mentions it so many times in most of his books.

    Anyway, I miss you. Is that weird? But I do. When you have a chance to catch your breath, lets chat. Can’t wait to hear whats been going on in your life.

    • I’ve missed you too and would like to know what’s been going on in your life! I’ve missed blogging, but it’s been hard to get around to doing it with all this moving. I barely even email! Maybe that will all change when I eventually get a smartphone. :)

      Paulo Coelho wrote a book about the Camino… it was interesting, though not one of my favorites from his works. But I loved walking along the Camino and recognizing the places and paths he had written about.

      • PS. None of Coelho’s books struck me like Alchemist and Eleven Minutes. Some of them I didn’t even like. And I need to get a camera like yours!

    • I know, I know, I’m sorry!!! I wish I had had the gusto to write more… but you know, sometimes you just can’t get yourself to write, even if you have things to write about! I was without “ganas”. I’ll try and be better about it!

  8. I’m so happy to read a post from you! I had been patiently waiting (knowing full well how busy you are) and somehow I’m just seeing this post now : )

    The photos are beautiful and just sent your blog to my mom who really likes the idea of doing part of the camino when she visits next year… I can’t say no to her suggestion. Time to get in shape!

    • Hola!! Thank you for checking in! How are you and Big Man?? How’s the winter been so far en el campo? I have a lot of catching up to do, and I’m looking forward to it.

      All is well here, we’ve just moved to Belfast (we drove from Córdoba!). Now just getting settled in as best we can! :)

Leave a Reply

