From Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

Where do I even begin? It’s been three months since I’ve blogged, so I’ll do a quick run-through.

Back in September, I had just gotten back from the Camino, where I had 10 days to myself as I walked 272km across the regions of Castilla y León and Galicia. In October, I started a new job teaching intensive English courses with an international university in Spain. Work sent me to La Línea, which lies next to the British territory of Gibraltar, for a month before sending me back to my beloved Granada.

 

A Walk in Gibraltar

IMG_0030

 

Back in Granada with friends.

IMG_0003_2_2

 

Then, in November, D-Man completed a series of interviews to work in the U.K., and announced that we would hit the road in December.

And that’s just what we did.

Picture 1

It wasn’t the easiest of choices, but it was an opportunity for us both. And an adventure that began in D-Man’s small Spanish town with the three of us squashed in the car amongst suitcases, gallons of deep green olive oil, and Spanish sausages.

 

On the road

IMG_0011

IMG_0055

 

24-hour ferry boat ride from Bilbao, Spain to Portsmouth, England.

IMG_0052

 

Passing through Oxford

IMG_0067

 

Getting lost in Liverpool.

IMG_0082

 

Destination: Belfast, Northern Ireland

IMG_0104 IMG_0103

The trip took 3 days and we celebrated the New Year at Duke of York in Belfast’s city center (centre?), drinking beer and holding hands with complete strangers while singing God Save the Queen.

 

My horoscope says 2013 is going to be a good year. :)

IMG_7361

34 thoughts on “From Southern Spain to Northern Ireland

  1. It’s wonderful to have you back! Sorry to hear about what happened with your last blog. And since we’re both Aries, here’s hoping its a good year for me too eh? It’s been not-so-great so far, but I’m hopeful ;)

    Wishing you & D-Man all the best for 2013! ;)

  2. YOU’RE BACK! WOo hoo!
    Nice short and sweet recap.
    I definitely have missed the way you string words together!

    Can’t wait for more, my dear friend!

  3. You are back! I was so sorry to see your blog get hacked but I’m glad to hear you guys are settling in in. Can’t wait to read about your adventures in Belfast!

    • I hope so! I’d love to do it again in a few years, via another route. There’s the Portuguese Way (which begins in Portugal) and the Primitive Way, which starts at the northern tip of Spain. My first pick would be the Primitive Way. It looks like I’ll be returning time and time again!

  4. finally you’re back. missed you! hope you write more about the camino, Id really like to hear about it. also, did dman get something in his field? Belfast and northern Ireland are so full of history, I will be super interested in your impressions of life there. some of my fav authors are irish and british. happy beginnings!.

    • Hello! Thank you for your well wishes! I do plan on writing more about the Camino and my summer travels through Asturias, Cantabria, and Castile. There’s just so much that’s happened in the last months!
      Yes, David got a job in his field, though not in his alternative therapy field, but there seems to be more opportunity here for it, so hopefully things will continue to go uphill from here on out.
      So far my impressions of Northern Ireland have been just observatory, but I do intend on reading even more about the history. We arrived smack in the middle of the Loyalist protests, so there has definitely been some chaos in the area we were previously living in.

    • Welcome, and thank you for stopping by. :) Yes, the 24-hour ferry ride was horrendous. There was literally flying furniture and silverware due to the huge waves we had to make our way through. But we thankfully arrived in one piece!

Leave a Reply

